A A A

Please consider registering

Search

— Forum Scope —

— Match —

— Forum Options —

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Neily's D14
Neily
Top Gear User
Club Member
Forum Posts: 75
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
December 2, 2019 - 11:04 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi all

I am new to owning a D14/4 .is engine lubed by oil fuel mixture and if so what ratio please.also what is best oil for gearbox?

Thankyou

Stoo63
GLASGOW
Area Rep
Forum Posts: 513
December 2, 2019 - 11:40 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi Neily and welcome to the forum. There is a vast amount of info available here and your questions are probably the most commonly asked. There are a million(and more) opinions on the subject of oils and mixtures.Your best bet is to google "fuel mix d14 bantam forum" and you will get loads of results like this....** Please log in to view **

That should keep you going for a while. Just replace "fuel mix" with " gearbox oil" for your other or any other query. Yes the engine is lubricated by the petroil mix.

It's best to do a little intro- tell us where you are etc, so that if there are any members near you, they can perhaps help out.

similarly photos are very handy. Check here ** Please log in to view **

All the best

Stewart

'52 D1 direct lighting plunger, '58 Square Four (project), '59 D1 direct lighting plunger,  '59 Tiger Cub, '60 5TA,  '76 FS1-E

AdrianS
Harlaston Staffs
Top Gear User
Club Member
Forum Posts: 128
December 3, 2019 - 2:51 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

If you have got the original petrol cap then that has a measure underneath it. 25:1 is (was) recommended but with modern high quality 2 stroke oils I think it is safe to use slightly less oil in the petrol.  Also remember that as the petroil mix is used to lubricate inside the engine, don't shut the throttle off going down a long steep hill - you cut off the lubrication of the engine.