A A A

Please consider registering

Search

— Forum Scope —

— Match —

— Forum Options —

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
HELP! Engine siezing?
MattC
Second Gear User
Site Member
Forum Posts: 21
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
February 5, 2019 - 7:29 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi everyone, I need a bit of experienced help here please. I’m very new to the Bantam world and own a D14 that I bought a month or so ago. Yesterday I took it on a short ride and went up a long steep hill in Bath. The engine began to wallow in 3rd at 20 (ish) so I changed down to 2nd. on letting the clutch out (which I probably dumped) the back wheel locked and I I came to a slidey embarrassing halt.

I have also found out the bike had new piston rigns from the previous owner.

The engine was really hot. I’m worried I seized the engine, or was it a stall on a soggy road? 

The bike started first kick 30 seconds later and and ran fine going back down the hill.

my question is can anyone diagnose an engine seizure? Does this sound like one?

If it is have I done any damage?

thanks so much!

Matt 

Peterg
Top Gear User
Site Member
Forum Posts: 1174
February 5, 2019 - 7:46 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Yes it seized, or as we would say the rings nipped up. More important is why?

Could be the timing is too advanced, could be the ring gap is too small or the bike is running very weak.

You will need to take the head and barrel off to check whether the piston has burred over and locked the ring(s) in place (& check the ring gap). It is unlikely that you have done anything terminal. Be very careful with the rings, they are brittle. I  often break them trying to deburr the piston.

nickjaxe
Runcorn Cheshire UK
Top Gear User
Club Member
Forum Posts: 1868
February 5, 2019 - 9:58 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print