A A A

Please consider registering

Search

— Forum Scope —

— Match —

— Forum Options —

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
D10 elecrical problems.
Andrew
Holmes Chapel, Cheshire
Forum User
Club Member
Forum Posts: 8
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
April 2, 2019 - 8:57 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Hi, I have nearly finished restoring my D10 silver. Just the electrics to check and hopefully she will start up. I bought a new battery after ensuring it is the correct type and fully charged it. Fitted it and......nothing. No lights work, no horn, no rear light, no rear brake light. I don't know where to start checking as i am a real novice with electrics. Can someone help me please? I have no idea what to check or how to test each part. I have bought a multimeter but don't know how to use it so yes, I am really stuck. I have checked all the connections are good and they look ok to me but that is as far as I can go.

cocorico
Central France
Forum Posts: 2772
April 2, 2019 - 9:14 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

Switch the multimeter to a DC volts range (10V probably). Attach the + lead to chassis / battery +, you should then be able to trace 6V from the battery -, through main fuse (if you have one) to ign switch, through that to one side of HT coil, through HT coil to the points (if the points are open, the 6V should disappear if the points are closed). Similarly with the lights, 6V to light switch, with lights on, 6V to one side of the lamp holder, through lamp to chassis (ie lamp lit), if you have 6V on one side and the other, you have a bad chassis connection. Horn and stop light are probably unswitched, so should have 6V to the horn switch (or brake switch), then to the horn (or brake light) when horn button (brake pedal) are operated. If neither work, check their earthing or continuity.

The Bantam Club Forum - all the answers are in there.

Andrew